Diploma of Arts

Course Structure

Sheridan's Diploma of Arts program is a first-year undergraduate program for students interested in preparing for employment in cross-cultural settings, in the social enterprise sector, or as a pathway towards future study in the humanities and social sciences.

The faculty have written units covering literature, creative writing, economics, history, geography, sociology and three foreign languages (Arabic, Chinese and Japanese). The units also incorporate an opportunity for students to explore a range of secular and Christian perspectives on human existence, human dignity and personal morality, and examine how these perspectives influence our understanding of the body of knowledge across different disciplines.

The diploma comprises 8 units. Each unit is worth 3 credit points for a total of 24 credit points.

The units on offer in 2021 are listed below.
  T1 = Trimester 1; T2 = Trimester 2; T3 = Trimester 3

Core Subjects (3 units)

Elective Subjects (choose 5 units)


The Diploma of Arts is available to both domestic students and international students (CRICOS Code: 093565D)


Apply Now


Browse the profiles for each member of the Faculty of Humanities and Social Sciences.